Meet the CRSD – Tim Hand

2015 Tim HandEach month the CRSD Snippets will highlight one of our dedicated employees.   We will randomly draw a name so that every employee in the district has the opportunity to be recognized for his or her unique and essential role in providing a quality education in our rural environment.   This month, we are pleased to present Tim Hand.

Name: Tim Hand

Email: thand@crsd.us

Birthday: July 8th

Role in the CRSD: Maintenance and Custodial Work

Primary Campus: District-wide

Where else have you taught? I have worked in the Copper River School District doing custodial and maintenance work for almost thirty years. When I first started working for CRSD, I remember working at the school in Paxson before it closed. I’ve also worked in Valdez at the cannery in my early adulthood. I’ve coached many young people in wrestling, basketball, volleyball and track and field. Hopefully, they have learned life lessons along with their sport.

Where are you originally from? Bremen, Indiana

Favorite Book/Author/TV Show: “Man from Snowy River”

Favorite Music Genre: Country/Christian

Favorite Place in Alaska: The bluff in Kenny Lake where my wife and I cut down our first Christmas tree.

Favorite Place Outside of Alaska: Pigeon Forge, TN

Hobbies: Sports, hunting, fishing and spending time with my wife and family.

Favorite Aspect of My Job: Contact with Students

One Interesting Thing About You That Might Be Surprising: I performed in a swing choir for two years in high school.   I’ve also survived two bear attacks.

Favorite Beverage: Coffee (In a really old crusty insulated mug. He could use a new one.)

Favorite Snack: Ice Cream

In One Sentence, What Advice Do You Have for Students? Never say you can’t…

Tim Hand started working in the Copper River School District in 1985.   He is the longest serving employee in the district.   Send Tim an email, buy him a cup of coffee or take him to a Red Robin to “show a little love” and let him know how much we appreciate him serving students and families in the CRSD.

Published by

Michael J.

Superintendent

3 thoughts on “Meet the CRSD – Tim Hand”

  1. I worked with Tim as summer help when my dad worked at CRSD (Curt Finch Sr). I must say Tim was fun to work with and a model of personal integrity. He was a blast and enjoyed his job; I so miss the “good ole’ days!” Go Panthers!! Curt Finch Jr. PhD, (aka Rusty)…

Leave a Reply

